Brief History Of Women’s Cricket In India


We all understand how famous cricket is around the world. The most recent World Cup was watched by 2.5 billion people worldwide, with about 1 billion Indians watching the tournament. These are some significant figures that demonstrate the game’s worldwide impact. While the men’s game has historically received a lot of coverage in India, its vibrant women’s cricket scene is now attracting more publicity. Similar strides have been taken in other disciplines, demonstrating how rapidly stereotypes about women’s fantasy sports are shifting worldwide.

For Women’s Cricket, New Times has Brought more Change

Throughout the 1970s and 1980s, the game of women’s cricket in India developed gradually. On a regional and national basis, this was the case. In the early 1990s, Indian cricket was in decent form, and the women’s international team won a one-day series against New Zealand for the first time in 1995. The women’s international cricket team is now in a much greater form as a result of this. They had a fantastic World Cup in 2017, narrowly losing to England in the final. This came on top of their appearance in 2005 last, where they lost to Australia.

The Early Times of Cricket In India

There was a lot of action in the first three years, and the women cricketers were playing the game for nine months of the year. In April 1973, the first Women’s Inter-State Nationals were held in Pune, with three teams competing: Mumbai, Maharashtra, and Uttar Pradesh. Eight teams played in the second edition, which was held in Varanasi at the end of 1973. The number had risen to 14 by the time the third championship was held in Calcutta. Following that, all states were allowed to join. Woman cricketers were later recruited by Railways and Air India, and they competed in different teams.

Executive Committee Of Women’s Cricket In India

The executive committee was reorganized after the second National in Varanasi, with Mrs.Chandra Tripathi and Mrs.Pramilabai Chavan taking over as chairperson and president. Along with Mr. MK Sharma, the founder secretary, these two ladies were influential in the early growth of women’s cricket. In 1973, the WCAI was awarded membership in the International Women’s Cricket Council (IWCC) and government recognition in 1978. Unlike England, New Zealand, and others that have integrated with the men’s association, the WCAI has remained an autonomous entity.

Arjun Award In Women’s Cricket

Shanta Rangaswamy, Diana Edulji, Shubhangi Kulkarni, and Sandhya Agarwal won the prestigious Arjuna award from the Indian government to appreciate their achievements in fantasy cricket. In 1978, 1982, 1993, and 1997, India competed in World Cup tournaments. The WCAI hosted the second World Cup in 1978, although it had only been in existence for five years and had no main sponsors.

In 1997, the World Cup was hosted for the second time in India, with 11 countries participating. Hero Honda funded this tournament, and it sparked a lot of excitement in the region. An unprecedented audience of nearly 80,000 people watched the final between Australia and New Zealand at Eden Gardens in Calcutta. The cultural program that accompanied the final made it the most vibrant final ever held.


About the author


Professional Blogger. Android dev. Audiophile.

Add comment

Leave a Reply

By Sidharth

Recent Posts